10. Life Shaped by the Top Value

Every decision we make is based on our values.

Almost all of us want to be rich, but only 1% actually possess the wealth.

Why is that? Because not everyone values accumulating wealth as the top priority. Wishes and necessity aren’t the same after all.

After going through the value determination process by John Demartini, I observed how I make decisions, and found that health and pleasure were surprisingly taking higher place than wealth. It meant I was willing to spend money for my health and pleasure (usually for trying something new or exploring) than saving or investing money. Yet I always think of myself as a millionaire who hasn’t obtained the money yet. If I keep putting other things over wealth developing, the time for my money to actually come into my possession will take longer time than I would like. It sounds like a no brainer, but it was actually astonishing to discover it by taking the steps by how Dr. Drmartini put together.

As we only have 24 hours, we can also only fulfill very few values, because they overlap and come at us at the same time for us to choose.

Our life is shaped by our values. When we look at how and where we spend time, what we spend our money on, and where we put ourselves in such as what kind of stuff we place around us at work or home, all of these tell a lot about what we value.

I am thankful for this great tool that has given me a chance to evaluate myself. Knowing more and better about myself is always empowering.

 

 

Leave a Reply

