Day 106: Thank When You Can

Sharing multiplies the joy and happiness.

I have a serious sweet tooth and it has been a torture for me to be around all the treats in my face all day at work. Luckily, I was strong enough to not give in and have a bite out of those sinfully delicious white sugar/corn syrup filled chocolates. It was only Monday and I started getting back into my old shape and it’s been feeling great. I didn’t want to ruin it and I knew myself so well that it won’t be just one chocolate piece. I didn’t open the gate and I’m glad and proud that I didn’t.

I ran home though so that I can make a batch of healthy sweets to satiate my craving. It came out so beautifully. I thought of my colleagues struggling with the same temptations and felt like it would be nice to cheer them with my homemade healthy snacks. So I brought some of them and shared with a few close ones.

Sharing isn’t just giving stuff away. It’s a symbol of caring and kindness. I always had an appreciation for them and thought of expressing my gratitude, but haven’t come to make it happen. I was waiting for Christmas season to do it, but I know very well that we shouldn’t hold off on expressing gratitude based on my personal experience.

 

Once I used to live next to a property manager’s unit. Warren was one of the hardest working people I have come across so far. There was no set schedule for Property Managers to take care of the building as far as I know or I have seen. He was an early riser who starts sweeping around the building at 7 a.m. every single day Monday to Friday. He took his lunch on time for an hour and got off of his duty at the same time every day. He always whistled when he walked down the hall. Was it his way of letting people know that he was approaching? Not sure, but it was definitely a short glimpse into his personality. He was very kind and polite whenever I bumped into him in the hallway.

I always thought of how nice he was and wanted to recognize his hard work. I was planning to write a card mentioning it with a small gift for Christmas.

It was a busy holiday season. I got caught up with things and the plan didn’t take place. I postponed it and told myself that there will be another time to do so.

I didn’t realize it until later, but his whistle was gone for a while. I was uncertain how long I hadn’t heard it for. When I was notified that he had passed away alone in his unit and the property management company found out about it after couple of weeks of he deceased, I cried as if my good friend had died.

It is such a tragedy that in this society, we have no idea what the hell is going on with our neighbours. I thought of how the sound of my TV or voice could have been the last thing he heard. He might have needed help and hoped that someone just burst into his door and help him. I felt a sense of blame for how the society has been shaped with indifference and overprotection or concerns. ‘If it were not an apartment building, someone might have noticed his long absence and done something about it.’ But then ‘Really, though?’ Would anyone actually knock on someone’s door because they haven’t seen their neighbor for a while? It just doesn’t happen nowadays, unless they have been well acquainted before and become quite close. This has been on my mind to think about for a good while.

 

Ever since, I make sure I show my gratitude for someone right when I realize it. We don’t know for sure that there will be a next time.

Sharing makes our human experience richer and more meaningful. That is how we learn and how we grow.

 

Grateful for every interaction I have throughout the day. Both pleasant and less teach me deeper of a life lesson. It adds depth into my soul.

I am happy to learn and grow more and excited to see more ahead of me.

Life gets only better and better.

Thankful and happy.

 

img_9341

Hiking = Meditation + Workout

The best!

 

 

Leave a Reply

